Former Britain First member speaks out

The following post was Emailed by a former Biffer. We publish it here without edit or comment beyond this very brief introduction. (EBFBlogger)

BF NF BNP Nazi comparisonsThe first time I heard of Britain First was in 2014, when I saw the video of them confronting and chasing Anjem Choudary outside his home. I thought it was justified that a pro-violence hate preacher was being treated as badly as he treats others. I signed up to be a member after watching that video and one other of a counter protest. I thought it was a good cause because at the time, I felt little or no action was being carried out against extremeism in Britain.

Shortly after signing up, I got a magazine through the post from Britain First and the most interesting article in it was about the “New World Order” and how the “Establishment” needs to be removed in Britain. I thought I struck gold. A party against extremeism and the Establishment.

A few weeks later came the first of many emails asking for money. At first, I thought it was fine because they are only a small party. I was basically skint, so I never donated anything.

After reading Facebook posts by BF, I was confused. They went from being Anti-Establishment to praising the Queen (who is arguably the biggest figure of the British Establishment) so that was odd. I also heard some members (including Paul) were ex-BNP. At this point, I should have been smart enough to see through the illusion but I wasn’t. I thought hardly anything of the BNP link, I thought maybe they turned away from racism. Maybe they wanted a fresh start.

BF Full metal jacket fight war islam muslimAround the same time ISIS began dominating news headlines, came BF’s posts saying how a “Moderate Muslim” doesn’t exist and they “all read from the same evil book”
Sad to say, I thought they had a point. I started thinking of all Muslims as evil and terrorist sympathisers. I was never racist but I was Islamophobic. I am extremely disappointed in myself for this because growing up I was never bothered by religion or political beliefs.
I feel like I was radicalised.

I went to my only protest which was in Rotherham. When I got there, it felt more like a market, with cheap tacky merchandise being sold out of a car boot. The illusion started to slowly fade from this moment.

After that, my next event, if I remember correctly, was their conference. I walked into the hall where it was being held and headed into the main room. Paul and Jayda were speaking to each other.

“When’s it going to happen then?” Paul asked

“I don’t think they’ve realised just yet” Jayda replied.

EBF BF police conference 2014 raidI can only assume they were talking about booking the hall and not informing staff who they were or what the event was. A few minutes later, a worker approached Paul and asked who exactly they were, to which Paul handed her a leaflet, with a smug smile on his face. Like a plan had all come together. The worker walked away and Jayda followed her into a small room, and came back a few moments later. Then all hell broke loose. The manager came to the main room and shouted “How dare you speak to my staff like that, get out now!” God knows what she said. Jayda seemed to love being confronted and responded aggressively.

The staff cut the power, so no laptops were working etc. The police were called and the conference was cut short. What a waste of a day that was. On the way home, I was thinking to myself, why am I here. This isn’t me.

Later in the week, in maybe one of the biggest coincidences of all time, I just finished reading a post by a fellow member saying how “all Muslims hate dogs” and “dogs are seen as filthy in Islam”. I took my dog for a long walk and sat down relaxing for a while, when a Muslim lady wearing a hijab and her husband walked past. She saw my dog and the lady smiled at me and asked if she could stroke him and take a picture of him. I said sure. I thought I was being wound up at the first!

It was in this moment I realised I was completely wrong. Most Muslims are peaceful and friendly people. It was such a brilliant scenario.

BF NF EBF Paul Golding underpants

Britain First took a break in December and I discovered alot more about them. Such as the Daily Politics interview where it shows Paul disrespecting the war dead on Remember Sunday. My mind was more or less made up then, but I did one last event, which was campaigning. It was rubbish and nothing of importance happened.

I went home and I exposed Britain First to all the other activists and officially quit.

Now, I am sharing my story with you, as someone who has seen how this evil party operates from the inside. As someone who was peaceful growing up, only to be transformed into a Islamophobe because of Britain First.

As for my views now, my core beliefs are being Anti-Establishment and promoting peace between all races, colours, religions etc.

EBF multicultural

I would like to end this post by saying sorry and to urge any Britain First members reading this to leave the party, turn your lives around and promote peace and give your time to a worthy cause.

11 thoughts on “Former Britain First member speaks out

  1. The chances are the story with the Muslim lady and the dog did happen. Muslims are not against dogs, my parent’s next door neighbours who are Muslims had a couple of dogs. The actual truth of the matter is that they do not dislike dogs, but they won’t allow dogs inside as according to their beliefs, angels will not enter if dogs are inside.

    Like

    • It’s only a tradition. Not everyone believes this about angels not entering. The tradition anyway is about things that make prayer spaces impure and there are plenty of those things in every day houses – they just need clearing up.

      Besides, the Qur’an speaks of dogs always in a positive way and mentions hunting dogs and how it’s halal to eat food they’ve brought to you in their mouth. So it shows that the hunting dogs were companions and they did not render the food forbidden.

      It’s kind of a fundie/Wahabi view this dogs thing imo.

      Like

      • Ok thanks for clearing that up for me. I wasn’t sure if was a teaching from the Koran or tradition. All I knew is that Muslims not liking dogs was false.

        Like

  2. Dogs. I,m an atheist married to a Muslim, nearly all of the wife’s family have does and they all live inside the house and are just as well loved and looked after as most family pets in the UK. Haji. The bulk of Haji wearer’s in the UK are Pakistani Muslims. Get on a flight from Saudi Arabia and you will see this oppressive garment removed as soon as they are out of Saudi air space, they then look like very fashionable westerners. Urban. Most Muslims do not take it literally but as a guide as do the Christians with the Bible.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

