A view from a barstool #6

Beer 2This is a hard one to write. I sit perched on my stool supping a pint, thinking of those people in Paris and Lebanon who have lost their lives at the hands of terrorists and actually seriously wondering if all that I and my colleagues do at EBF is really worth it. To counter bigotry and extremism, to hold Mr Golding and Ms Fransen to task. Is it really worth it in the end or should we just call it a day and hide behind our sofa’s hoping that all this is just a horrible dream? Then I realise that we have to fight extremism in all its forms. As a Billy Bragg song quite rightly said…

“If you wake up to find your paper is Tory,

Just remember there are two sides to every story.”

In the office today there is a sense of disbelief, a surreal silence between all of us, not knowing what to post, what to hold back, what to say or do. We realise the horrors of what happened and the retribution that the western powers will exact. We also realise what the far right will be doing, wringing their hands in pretend sadness whilst secretly doing a victory dance.

Paris attack November 2015 2So here I am beginning now to hear some facts, not some conjecture that the media get from so called experts or from reporters reporting what some other reporters are reporting but some hard facts and we won’t get all of these until into next week. So all I can say is that these people were murderers, terrorists under the flag of Daesh, not of Islam. Many Muslims have come onto social media once again to say it was not in their name. The British Council of Muslims share the horror that all of us showed. Muslims whom I know are resigned to giving out the ‘Not in my name’ again even though I and most others realise they don’t need to.

It seems to me that the powers that be want to blame the whole of the Islamic faith for this outrage at the hands of Daesh. But when the outrage is in the US or in Norway and other places in this world of ours they aren’t so quick to condemn other religions. I’m not heavily into politics nor am I religious but all this seems crazy to me. How many times do we see the west condemn what is going on in Gaza? How many times do we see the west condemn what is happening in Zimbabwe, things which happen on a daily basis and react with the terror that they did over this weekend? Answers on a postcard, please.

The truth of the matter in my opinion…

These killers, these terrorists, these murderers have not killed in the name of any religion nor for any political gain. They have murdered these people because they are murderers.

Now I will sit quietly in my corner, in front of a raging fire and raise my glass in a salute to those who died in Paris and in Lebanon in salute.

Paris attack November 2015 1

Leave a Reply

